Home Life

I enjoyed reading this article last night about Waldorf principles where Barbara Dewey, had this message to us,

“Rudolf Steiner indicated that the young child needs to be regarded as a spiritual being in a newly acquired physical body on which the spirit of the child must work, as an artist, to form into the body that is needed to carry out her individual destiny.  The parent (or teacher) cannot know exactly what that life’s destiny is, but can only provide the environment and the materials for the artist to work”.

She also elaborates on not feeling like we have to play and engage our children all day long, but incorporate them into our daily lives, coming along with you and helping with the cooking, cleaning, laundry.

Now I can’t get Ems to put her clothes in the hamper or flush the toilet every time she leaves the bathroom and let’s just not talk about the whirlwind I call BooBoo.  But I do know this.  My kids love cooking and baking with me.  They crack eggs, they stir batter, they cut fruit (with dull knives).  They like to help me sort laundry and we have a very nice game of seeing who can pull all their underwear out of the laundry basket first or pair up the most socks.  BooBoo, unlike me, was born a gifted housecleaner and loves nothing more than to sweep, scrub and do dishes when given free reign to do so.  Last night she cleaned the toilet with wipes while getting ready for bed.

It’s all about the right time and place.  When she’s tired and ready for sleep is not the time to ask Boo to clean up the multitude of baby items (cradle, blankets, clothes, bottles, bath) she has spread about the living room and don’t even try to ask Em’s to do anything after school until she’s had a snack.  But sometimes when the mood is right, they can become the busiest beavers in the house.

Some battles I will never win.  The toilet flushing, the dirty clothes on the floor is a constant battle, along with the put one thing away before you get out another, but heck, I have that same problem.  Notice I haven’t shown you my sewing area and the twelve projects I am working on at once.

Now I just have to get us on a schedule.  The second part I’m learning about as I continue my Waldorf journey, rhythms of the days, and the comfort of knowing, this is what comes next and, oh yes, that feels familiar and just right.

3 Comments

Filed under girls, home life

3 responses to “Home Life

  1. I’ve always felt like I was bad because I didn’t always make my kids clean up, but welcomed them to work alongside me at whatever I was doing. Suddenly Hels (12) is voluntarily cleaning toilets, making applesauce, and just joining in the household rhythm without having it be a listed “chore.” I’m amazed (and wonder if it will last). Now, flushing the toilet? That’s another story 🙂

    I wish there were more books like Barbara Dewey’s that talked about Waldorf principles in light of adolescence. I sort of feel like it’s unexplored territory.

    Oh…and…thanks for your comment on my blog. I’m glad to have found yours.

  2. It’s funny I think we’re kind at the same stage. We unschooled for a year and found that Waldorf suited my daughters goals better and I love the philosphy. We have had the most wonderful time incorporating cooking and cleaning as part of a rhythmic schedule. As well as studying our favorite subjects in a completely different light.

    Sarah, I totally agree. My daughter is almost 12 and I wish there was more literature that is Waldorf based. Elementary and early childhood, not a problem but middle and highschool it becomes more of a “jump”. I did run across one site that suggested the best thing for highschoolers was to read the Teenage Liberation Handbook. Just some food for thought. 🙂

  3. underthebigbluesky

    Thank you both so much for the wonderful comments. Sometimes, especially here, it is nice to know that others feel the same way you do.

    I am jealous so much of you both for being able to teach your children. Jealous in a good way.

    Ems is in 2nd grade this year and though she loved school her Kindergarten and 1st grade years, the love of learning is gone for her this year as is the general interest in it.

    I’m getting ready actually to rant about it again, yes, another rant and really wish I had an alternative, but being ms. single mother of the year, don’t really have the choice to stay home and unschool.

    In the meantime, I read, I follow wonderful blogs like yours and help my girls to learn and explore everything that interests them in the meantime. Hopefully, though school is a bore, I can keep them interested in that “creative spark and thirst for knowledge” until I find a better way.

    Thank you so much for your kindred words. I will follow you both on this journey and when you are feeling completely overwhelmed by the prospect of kids all day long, remember me at work, I’ll be the one saying “nanny nanny boo boo”. Just kidding.

Leave a Reply

