Saturday’s False Start

Saturday was made of best laid plans.  Then CNN came on and with that the inaugural train trip through my home here smack dab 45 minutes between Philadelphia and Baltimore.

 My mama went to our little local Amtrak station, and basically saw it whip past.   We stayed home and I stayed glued to the television waiting for the speech in Baltimore which had a turnout of about 35,000 people.  Mama was going to take the girls, but after the scolding I got from the ex last week about not making plans on HIS DAY, they came home and yep, you guessed it, he cancelled on them by text at  about 4:30pm.  

The girls played, and listened, and eyed me carefully.  They know that I get weepy during Obama speeches, and sure enough it hit me right here…

“…we believe that our future is our choice and that if we could just recognize ourselves in one another and bring everyone together, democrats, republicans, independents, from the north, the south and east and west, black, white, latino, asian, native american, gay, straight, disabled, not, then we would not only restore hope, but opportunity, in places that yearn for both, but maybe, just maybe, we might perfect our union in the process”.

“…and what you showed me time and again is that no matter who we are, no matter what we look like, no matter where we come from, no matter what faith we practice, we are a people of common  hope, a people of common dreams, who ask only that what was promised us as Americans, that we might make of our lives what we will and see our children climb higher than we did…”

If you would like to hear the whole speech, link here.

n15576051444_2526

I will be working Inauguration day, but will hopefully be able to catch up on it later in the evening.

I cannot begin to explain why I get that welling in my chest every time I hear this man speak.  I think that these last eight years, my hope has been so dashed that hearing the words HOPE, and PROMISE and the absolute inclusion rather than division of us as humankind as a whole brings me renewed faith that perhaps, just perhaps we can restore ourselves as a nation to be looked up to and revered rather than being viewed as a closed-minded nation of corruption and greed.

Now, to that Christmas tree……

 

 

*****i agree with bridge’s comment. i think that people here and abroad have REALLY high expectations! one part of that same speech that i really liked was when he said there will be failures, false starts and i will make mistakes….nice honesty. the other thing that i like that he emphasizes is that we all have to work together as individuals and government to make change.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Saturday’s False Start

  1. I cried yesterday when they played the Obama speech on the radio where he first used “Yes, We Can.” M. got all worried and I had to explain to her that sometimes people cry when they are happy. Then she just looked at like I was crazy.

  2. he has such a huge burden. i hope americans are patient and that our government reps work together to help our nation.

    i am happy too.

  3. I don’t even live in the US and I cry every time he talks! He is an amazing speaker. Perfect combination of content, charisma and delivery. I’ll definitely be watching on Inauguration day, Kleenex in hand.

    I agree though, that because he does speak so amazingly well and he’s able to infuse his audience with such hope (I hate to overuse the word, but it really is the one that fits), the expectations are probably impossibly high, especially considering the what he’s inheriting.

    That sucks that your ex cancelled at the last minute like that! And by text??

  4. Tomorrow should be exciting for everyone all over the world. I watch every inauguration because it’s so interesting to me to be a part of history in the making…even if I am just sitting in my living room at the time!

  5. I am looking forward to tomorrow. 🙂

  6. OK mr. President…. we’re ready!

Leave a Reply

