A Present.

I did not do much to mark the occasion of the divorce.  I made it through the testimony fine.  I teared up when my amazing mother testified as my witness.  It was a dual punch of hearing the officialness of the divorce and hearing my mother continue to stand with me as she has always, always done, right or wrong, good or bad through 37 years.  My Mama and I had peach smoothies afterwards and held hands in a bagel shop. I took the girls to see Night at the Museum II.  It was just what felt right.

IMG_1759

However I did do something rather selfish. Throughout my marriage I could never have a pretty bedroom.  It always had to be masculine or neutral.  (Bleah, right).  So I was at Target the night before the hearing and found this Shabby Chic coverlet on clearance, (clearance people, as in super-duper on sale).  Then I went the next aisle over and found these lovely spring green bamboo sheets that feel like heaven.  When I was married I couldn’t have a girly bed and I certainly never had enough money to treat myself.  So, I bought them both.  And now my bed looks like this. It makes me feel happy and at peace when I climb in and my bunkmate agrees that it’s not only pretty but so darn comfy.

IMG_1761

12 Comments

Filed under home life

12 responses to “A Present.

  1. Liz

    First, they’re beautiful. Second, you so deserve a few little happinesses after all you’ve been through. So enjoy! And may there be many more to come!

  2. Lovely. And good for you. You’re worth it.

  3. Heavenly. Nothing better than a new sheets / coverlet. Kisses to your bunkmate, who also appears to be soaking up the girlie deliciousness…

  4. I love it. I love that style. Hope it brings you many nights of restful sleep.

  5. I think that sounds a perfect thing to do for yourself and not at all selfish.

  6. I love the coverlet! Good for you, treating yourself to something nice. You deserve it.

  7. Beautiful…I’ve seen that coverlet at Target and have always thought it was so pretty. Good for you for taking a little extra care of yourself. It’s OK to splurge every now and again…and creating a little haven for yourself to retreat to at the end of the day is a GOOD thing. Your mom sounds like MY mom…she’s always there for me, always honest, and always on my side…always. Moms rule. Have a great day…xo

  8. I think it’s the perfect little treat for yourself. Looks peaceful – as I hope you are feeling a bit more now.

  9. what a great way to put a period on this sentence in life. A comfy pretty bed 🙂

  10. It is truly a wonderful thing to have such a supportive mother!
    What a perfect way to treat yourself, crisp new sheets and beautiful bedding really do make a difference, and all us mama’s know a cozy nights sleep makes for a happy mama : )
    Good for you!!

  11. Nice way to end your day. Hope you woke up feeling just as happy and at peace.
    PS i found your blog through vanilla icing.

  12. I did this when I was first divorced, too. Bought something special that I wouldn’t have done when I was married. It’s sort of a rite of passage, I think. I’m glad for you.

Leave a Reply

