How Does Your Garden Grow?

mosaic0559b77fa5ae6d34117c849309f1b8f76bba8c4f

This is the first garden I have ever planted since Ems was born eight years ago.  It is divided into two gardens a veggie patch and an herb bed.  Tonight I walked out and took a look to make sure harvesting the first pepper and zucchini could wait until we returned from our trip this weekend.  I think so.

mosaice62b4e5f28211af2c4dbec90bff1f5d7de9b47c4

It’s fascinating to me to see the amazing miracle of taking a wee seed, like these we planted in Spring, and seeing them grow to a midgen, then a stalk, then a leafy thing then sprout into these amazing shapes and flavors.  As always, I am in awe.

Some people find a place to be with their creator in church or a gathering.  I find it here in my garden with humble respect to this miracle of life.

13 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

13 responses to “How Does Your Garden Grow?

  1. syd

    I absolutely get rejuvenated spending time in my garden – I am so happy there. And now that the girls are old enough to help out, it’s just that much better.

    These pictures are wonderful! And I love the idea of starting seeds in egg cartons, I’m borrowing that one. xo

  2. I love to be in my yard too, but most of my time seems to be spent pulling weeds. Our garden is very small this year, just beans and cucumbers. I haven’t had time to get the rest of it ready. Right now I’m in the middle of a 3-day painting project, getting my daughter’s room just the right shades of pink and purple. Apparently I find my creator in any number of household chores! 🙂

  3. Unfortunately I didn’t get my garden in this year. I’ve never had a big one. Usually just tomatoes, peppers, and zucchini. I don’t have a good excuse for not doing it this year. I’m paying the price now though as I’m wishing I was harvesting those fresh zukes. 😦

  4. YEA!! Your garden mosaic is wonderful. We’ve been eating zucchini now every night for about a week! Thanks for your kind words about little Ramie. Cat Heaven is a wonderful book…

  5. I added you to my blog list – I hope that is ok 🙂

    Your garden looks delicious – I wholeheartedly agree being outside is medicine to the soul.

    Claire

  6. I read your post and had to find this quote to share with you…it is one of my favorites 😉
    Two years ago, I was saying as I planted seeds in the garden,
    “I must believe in these seeds, that they fall into the earth and grow into flowers and radishes and beans. “It is a miracle to me because I do not understand it. The very fact that they use glib technical phrases does not make it any less a miracle, and a miracle we all accept. Then why not accept God’s miracles?
    – Dorothy Day, From Union Square to Rome, 1938
    Glad to see you are in the dirt again. Nothing like being in the garden.. may yours grow in abundance.
    Sarah

  7. Amen to that…God is all OVER the garden. It’s the miracle of life…and it’s amazing. I sat today as I watered the garden and watched the pole beans. I just sat and stared…and one of the tendrils was moving, ever so slowly, repositioning itself to grab hold of that next little bit of chicken wire. I wish I had time to just sit and watch all day…

    Have a wonderful and safe trip!

  8. mogspog

    That’s a beautiful garden. I love your blog (found it via mamauk above)

  9. I just love it! I will post on my garden soon, yours looks lovely and thriving.

  10. I dream about a garden with a purpose, and I know someday I’ll have it. But for now, I’ll make do with the wilderness we share with the birds!

    Sometimes I think ‘big’ makes it just too daunting. Where do I start!

    HAppy fourth of July!

  11. Your garden looks great! Your basil looks a little ahead of mine.

    How much space do you have to work in? I’ve a fair amount of things planted in mine but I have teeny tiny space to work with because two maples shade 90% of my back yard.

    I’ve taken to putting herbs in pots and putting them in the front.

  12. I agree Jen, so much!
    Your garden looks beautiful. I used to plant eucalyptus each year, I never did this year so nice to see yours : )

  13. I couldn’t agree more – planting a seed and seeing it grow it pure magic in action 🙂

Leave a Reply

