Book Sharing Monday-Knitting Nell

3143794825_27cd4daa5c_m

It was so hard to pick my first choice for this, there are so many great ones.  So I thought that I would start with one we just finished reading.

“Knitting Nell” by  Julie Jersild Roth

14616214.JPG

After a boy tells her she has a voice like a cricket with a pillow over it’s head Nell doesn’t talk very much and tends to keep to herself, but she listens and she knits, and knits and knits.  For her family and for charity.  So when she wins a special award it awakens some attention for her that allows her to speak up and teach others.

mosaiccd3b650ac7bd6f8b8db3cdb4e1030ac3804ca469

8 Comments

Filed under books

8 responses to “Book Sharing Monday-Knitting Nell

  1. This book is a favorite in our family. My kids knit for charity and the feeling of hope and help is so gratifying.
    Thank you also for leaving such a nice comment on my blog….no musical man is safe in my book!off to check out Matt Costa….

  2. Gonna check this one out from the library – I think Sutter would really enjoy it. Thanks for the recommendation!

    PS: Can hardly wait to hear about “Food Inc.”

    PSS: Thank goodness for grandmothers!

  3. Sounds like one we could have used when we moved her and the other children made fun of her accent and she didn’t speak for three months! Thanks for sharing.

  4. Sounds like one we could have used when we moved here and the other children made fun of my daughter’s accent and she didn’t speak for three months! Thanks for sharing.

  5. We love this book.. a favorite here. I thought it would be a good primer before teaching my Mae to knit.. and it was.

  6. cool, thanks for the book recommendation 🙂 my kids are so wrapped up in the Magic tree house books right now it’s cute. I love that they love it so much.

  7. alexdk3

    Hello and welcome to book sharing monday!
    I added you to the list of participants and have been enjoying looking at your beautiful blog…we collect rocks too 🙂

Leave a Reply

