dusk.

we waited and waited…3731128930_2c3590f66f

and then the lightning bugs, fireflies…whatever name you choose, were blinking on…off…on…off and the girls rushed first to one spot, stood stock still, then dashed off in another direction to catch one.

i caught one on my finger on the way back to fill the watering can, and it rode contentedly, perched on the end of my finger.  i waited till he chose to alight before i started to refill.

a toad was hopping near the garden and we shooed him to the dirt so that we could pad around without squishing him.

i watered the veggies in the near darkness and boo stated she didn’t like bats.

so we watched the bats, seeing one or another at least fifteen, twenty times in their acrobatic divebombs to scarf up the mosquitos we hate so much.  boo took to them more affectionately after i told her that little tidbit.

the girls promised their messes would be cleaned up and their teeth would be brushed before we went outside.  sometimes promises fall short.  so it was late to bed again.

regardless, i’m beginning to think that dusk has become my favorite part of the day.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “dusk.

  1. That sounds just great.

    I’m a bit of a stickler about bed time. I need to back off on this a bit because my girls are missing just what you’ve described.

    This weekend my girls will be chasing fireflies right after I tell them how much fun Treemama and her girls had doing it.

    Thank you very much.

  2. it was hot here today – I’m looking forward to dusk too.

  3. Ahhhh, dusk and its symphony. You are so right.

  4. It is a lovely time of the day.

    A little toad was crossing the front walk last night as I was coming home. I nearly fell flat on my face trying to avoid it. At least I didn’t squish him. 😉

  5. Dusk is absolutely my favorite time of day…the end of one and the promise of another, Lord willing, of course.

  6. Dusk is near perfect. I love the fireflies. I would catch them nearly every night when I was a little girl.

Leave a Reply

