Finally-Blueberry Boy Bait

Isn’t that what every single mama needs?  I finally made the Smitten Kitchen Blueberry Boy Bait recipe I have been drooling over for a month now, but then there is not much over at Smitten Kitchen I don’t drool over.  In fact, I have made three Smitten Kitchen recipes this past week and not one failure.  So if you want to try (and it’s a very simple little cake), here’s a link to the recipe.

3786780868_3aff99cafe

I am really in love with this idea of baking based on what is fresh at the farmer’s market.  I have been waiting impatiently for blueberry season, but it has been so worth it.  Kind of like that first spring strawberry we ate.  I know I am going to go bonkers this winter as I have not put much up in the freezer, but this is a whole new way of meal planning for me.  First see what you get from the garden or the farm and THEN plan your menu.

So bear with me this winter when I am boo-hooing about no fresh fruit and veg, but I guess that’s what soups and stews and casseroles are all about isn’t it?  To each season it’s own bounty.  Though I am putting up a pint or two of blueberries next weekend to do this recipe a time or two.

3785961233_489c4a7f77

The other thing I love about this cake  is how it is so much fun to say.  It gets people giggling or looking at you quizzically.  Would you like some blueberry boy bait?  Unfortunately, there was nary a boy about to lure with my baking skills (minus my grandfather, but he doesn’t count, he very obviously already loves me), but while one would be handy to expand the homestead, fix the closet door, walk the dog, take out the trash, etc, I’m quite content to curl up with this, a cup of tea and a good book.

One day I will lure that boy in, the one who loves a girl with flour in her hair, who smells of cinnamon and vanilla extract.

14 Comments

Filed under cooking

14 responses to “Finally-Blueberry Boy Bait

  1. I am a big fan of berries.. love blueberries, but they are scarce to be found here, sometimes the fruit stand has them. Your bait cake looks soo good!

  2. Okay. So how far is it from my home to yours? Good heavens, that looks good!

    PS: I’m so, so glad you are okay. Although I hate to see those beautiful trees uprooted, I would much rather have them be toppled than you be harmed.

  3. He’s out there my friend…and whoever he is will be very lucky to find you. xo

  4. Mon

    Oh, I thnk yours looks better than over at SK. Thanks for sharing, I’ll be making this one.

  5. Liz

    Have you tried the buttermilk raspberry cake? I made it last week, and it was heaven!

  6. The blueberry lovers in my house would swoon over that. Thanks for sharing; I’ll have to make it for them.

  7. Your cake looks delish! The blueberry season is so short I wish something that good would last a little longer…maybe that is why we love it so much!

  8. the bowl with the blueberries – from Pier 1 ? I have that entire set.

    lastly, your blueberry bait boy is out there somewhere – just keeping making the cake.

    In the meantime, more cake for you!!

  9. I’d never heard of this until this morning, when I noticed propped up on my book-holder, Nigella Lawson’s Domestic Goddess book from when my daughter decided to make Rhubarb Grunt (honestly!) for her Dad the other day. The recipe on the opposite page is for Blueberry Boy Bait!

    I thought to myself: What a great name! I so have to make this. Which was exactly what NL herself thought upon seeing it! 🙂

  10. I have ripe blueberries in the garden, just enough for this recipe, yum yum!

  11. Your last words are sweet and complex, I wish you all the best.

  12. oh yum! and perfect timing, my daughters birthday is tomorrow and i have been struggling what kind of cake to make her. she LOVES blueberry pancakes, i might have to try thins out 🙂

  13. What do you know? Didn’t I just pick blueberries this morning? Why, yes! I did!

    I believe I’m going to love the cake as much as its name…

    THANK YOU!

  14. Oh yum and I bought fresh blueberries today! Lawman will love this. Oh, and your blueberry boy? You’ll find him; it’s always when we aren’t looking….so don’t look.

Leave a Reply

