The Horrible Ending of The Week

It seems even when you are filling your home with loveliness and light and beauty even then, the ugly things can still creep in.

I found out yesterday that my ex-husband and his new girlfriend are using my identity in a horrid case of medical fraud.  I have just begun to receive a flurry of bills, just starting today at over $1000.00 for emergency room visits.  They have been giving my name, address, social security number and date of birth at various hospitals in the next state over.  All information a husband of ten years has to get his girlfriend into an E.R for narcotics.  After spending the last day researching identity fraud I have a long road ahead of me and with this type of fraud unless  my or his sister’s address is used, I may not even know where they have gone until the bills go to collections and end up on my credit report.  A report with the police filed tonight, seems to have no hope of them being either caught or charged.  The worst part of this is that since she is using my social security number her medical history is being mixed with my own.  Meaning my clean as a slate medical history if pulled now makes me out to be a drug seeker.

Drug addiction is an epidemic unfortunately in this area and likewise all over the United States that is growing and destroying lives.  I know that the day will come that I will receive a call that the man I once called my husband is dead.  I have seen the lives of my family and his destroyed by a simple beginning of a prescription for back pain.

I am not letting this destroy the peace and beginnings of new life that I have started for myself.  It’s a knock for sure.  So forgive me if I am not as present as usual both here and in your places.  I have a very hectic time ahead of me filled with phone calls, faxes and police reports and through it all I need to also be sure that my girls who I prize beyond anything feel safe, secure and full of joy!

20 Comments

Filed under single parenthood

20 responses to “The Horrible Ending of The Week

  1. Oh no! I’m so sorry that this has happened to you. What a pain to have to deal with this. I can’t even imagine the hassle and the feeling of violation that you must have now.

  2. Oh my word, my friend. Oh my word.

    Please, please do whatever you need to do, for you and the girls. Know that you have a friend here that is praying for you. That the days ahead will bring you some peace. That a resolution will come quickly.

    Thinking of you, my friend – always…

    ~~Camie~~

  3. I am so sorry…honestly. I pray that you will be able to battle this effectively and quickly so that it doesn’t go any further than it already has. I will keep you and the girls in my prayers…xoxo

  4. my thoughts are with you. this is unbelievable.

  5. I’m shocked. I’m sorry that you have to go through something as horrible as identity fraud and, especially, deceit. I’m thinking of you.

  6. Oh goodness I am so so sorry about this. I know all about having a hassle of an ex-husband, but this is a new low. I’m sure it’s hard all the way around but I know the hassle of dealing with all the red tape and different phone calls you need to make will be a pain in the butt. Thinking about you and knowing this will all be cleared up someday. So sorry you have to deal with it though.

    -genny

  7. What a sorry excuse for a human being your ex is. You don’t deserve this kind of grief. I hope you get everything worked out.

  8. recoveryboy

    This is very harsh. Addiction is truly a devastating illness and it is no co-incidence it is called the ‘family’ disease.He does have the alternative of recovery – if he chooses it.

  9. This is absolutely miserable. That man needs a good throttling. I’m so sorry for you.

    I’m sure you’ve been researching this like mad. I’ve heard a good company for dealing with this sort of thing is Zander Insurance. Their fees seem reasonable though nothing much is reasonable when times are tight. It may be worth giving them a call. Ebb and flow … ebb and flow.

  10. I am so sorry that you have to go through this.

    Tricia

  11. know that whether or not we “hear” from you – we are thinking and praying for you. xoxo

  12. My mouth is hanging open in shock. I am so very, very sorry. Please know you and your girls are in my thoughts and prayers.

  13. syd

    Oh honey, I can’t *begin* to imagine. I wish there was something I could do … if there is anything at all … maybe something web related? I have no idea – but please don’t hesitate to ask. I will be thinking of you and your girls.

  14. Speechless.
    I am SO sorry.
    You and your children are in my thoughts.

  15. Amy

    I am so sorry to hear this, but will be thinking about you and sending good thoughts your way…

  16. This is awful. I am so sorry that you’re experiencing this difficult time. Know that prayers are being sent up on your behalf. Do whatever it takes to protect you and your girls.

  17. blueskyhi

    I’ve been awake half the night thinking about you and this blog and I still don’t know what to say. But I do know that you’ve endured a lot, made brilliantly good in a horrid situation and that all of this has given you the inner strength and determination to keep fighting with dignity and respect. My thoughts are with you, keep on keeping on. xxx

  18. Mon

    Bastard! What an ordeal. And so much to still sort through in the future – so much mess. I’m so sorry.

    I’m glad you say, “I am not letting this destroy the peace and beginnings of new life that I have started for myself.”
    Yeeha for that! No one can take inner peace from you.
    Hang in there, wishing you lots of strength.

  19. I am with Mon on that last comment. &*#%@)+!!!

    I don’t know what to say. I can’t imagine.
    Thinking of you friend, and will keep this in my prayers.
    Sarah

  20. so ggrrrr boy strikes again. Goodness girl. i’m thinking lynch mob!

    i am so sorry. it is a hard thing to fix too. my ex boyfriend in college messed up my credit big time and it took years to fix. the only advice i can give is SAVE EVERYTHING! but i am sure you know that already 🙂

    good luck.

Leave a Reply

