It’s Laundry Day

IMG_3698

I always thought it would be kind of complicated to make my own laundry detergent.  Why?  No idea.  It has been sitting there patiently on my list of things to do this year.  So after finding the necessary ingredients (thank you Target, you are worth the drive) I took to it today.  Having lost (of course) the original recipe I had found from the library, I remembered this post over at Red Gate Gardens last month.  So after assembling my three ingredients, two mixing bowls and grater, I managed to get it done in say, oh 10 minutes (minus photography time of course).  Because I do like a nice scent we used a bar of handmade honeysuckle soap that I bought from Etsy earlier this year.  It almost looked good enough to eat, the washing soda in the green mixing bowl and those sweet white curlicues laying on top.

I know that this is definitely the way to go from now on.  Less trash, less money, another handmade off the checklist.

IMG_3702IMG_3712IMG_3720

13 Comments

Filed under home life

13 responses to “It’s Laundry Day

  1. I’ve considered doing this but never have followed through. Let me know your thoughts after you’ve done a few loads.

  2. yes, I bought Borax at Target too.

  3. I would love to know how the laundry turns out too.

    Tricia

  4. I make (well, I was) my own laundry detergent too…but I have always done the liquid recipe. This last time I ran out I caved and bought a small bottle of detergent…I had laundry that had to be done and didn’t have time to let the liquid sit as long as it needed to. Then…I got lazy…and haven’t made more. I’m thinking I’m inspired to make some powdered and try that…I’ve got a handmade soap that is calling out to be used, too! Thanks for the inspiration!

  5. All right ladies. Two loads done. One towels, one sheets. They came out brilliantly clean, no residue and sweet smelling but not overbearing. Quite satisfied!

    Will let you know more after the real test of the girls clothes!

  6. I’m on a quest: where to find borax over here.

  7. You truly never fail to amaze me. Your own laundry soap? That is so cool. Now it is on my list too (it’s quite a long list though).

  8. Thanks for this, I’ll be having a go as soon as we are back from holiday, it looks wonderful.

  9. blueskyhi

    I’ve never got further than thinking about homemade laundry powder, but I do use white vinegar and a few drops of lavender oil as fabric softner. One quick question – can you use that in a front loader? I brought some handmade olive oil soap on the w/end so trying this is always a possibility.

  10. I have made that recipe before and I find it works SO WELL!! It is super easy to make and a batch lasts a pretty long time. And people are always so impressed you make your own laundry soap 🙂

  11. Wow, you made laundry day beautiful! I noticed in the recipe you referred to she used a particular bar of laundry soap. But then you just substituted another handmade bar? Just wondering if it makes a difference if the bar isn’t “laundry soap”? Because I definitely want to do this!

  12. Ooo-oooo you READ my mind!!! I was going to post the same thing!! Been using Camie’s recipe since she posted it and LOVE love LOVE it!! Could only find one store that stocks the washing soda, so went back last week and purchased two more boxes! Can’t wait to try a scented bar soap…maybe lavender?? Heading out the back door to hang my sheets up now…

Leave a Reply

