Home. Away

Thanks for all your lovely comments about my last post.  The worst part of my status with my ex-husband is being uneasy posting anything or letting anyone know that we are going to be out of town and our house is going to be empty.  Yes, I know, unfortunate, moving on.  The girls and I were gone this past Saturday through today, Monday.  Only about an hour away, but familiar territory was needed for the first official single mother vacation (wow, that’s another post), but the girls had a pool, I had a book and we saw scenes like this:

IMG_3875

In the meantime, I have seven more days of vacation at home, which is why I plan on getting myself organized and prioritized as mentioned before.  Seven more days!  No work!  Seven more days!  Did I say seven more days?  So I’ve come home to beans harvested from the garden and snapped for me (thank you Grandmom) and my most appreciated plant that I got this year, the aloe plant.  Because when you come home from the weekend looking like this…….

IMG_3885

the first thing you want is a slather of this.

IMG_3880

So in answer to Camie’s question.  This would be the only medicinal plant I planted this year, but my interest has been piqued.  Since the vegetables seemed to be such an investment in time and stress, I am going to minimize them next year.  After all we have expert farmers just down the road.  What I would like to focus on next year is expanding my herb base beyond the kitchen basics to add some more medicinal and aromatic herbs and plants to encourage my growing love of natural cleaning and care of our bodies and home.  So looks like I may have some education and research to focus on this winter.  If anyone has any resources they would like to recommend, please, do share!

10 Comments

Filed under weekends

10 responses to “Home. Away

  1. I do!! I have just started a holistic wellness course with Vintage Remedies (google it). So far I am loving it. they also offer a Herbal family course. let me know what you think.

  2. My mom always had an aloe plant in the house and it definitely got used a lot in the summer.

  3. Have you seen “The Herbalist’s Way” by Nancy and Michael Phillips? I checked it out from the library and it has me completely hooked. I especially appreciated the list of “10 Herbs Every Gardener Should Have”.

    Oh, I’m so excited for you!

  4. One day I hope to learn about herbs…that’s down the line as I still need to get this whole gardening thing down pat! I’m glad you and the girls had a good time away…you’re a good mom.

  5. Herbs are so easy to start inside. I agree with Camie– that book is awesome, one worth buying for sure.
    .. and of course.. herbs are great for honeybees 🙂

  6. Sounds great! I am pretty much herb challenged. Well, except for catnip, which keeps Luther and Lindy happy. Can’t wait to see what you do.. I did start some lavender this year. Still in little pots. Hope it makes it to next year.

  7. I’m having adventures myself just now with poppy seeds and coriander. What fascinates me most is the long sweep of history in which herbs were the only medicine available. I recently read Geraldine Brooks’ The Year of Wonders and loved the references to herbal healing. The Shakers near my home still grow herbs, and I love their tradition of using them. My favorite resource for historical reference is A Modern Herbal by Mrs. M. Grieve. Delicious and comprehensive. Hope we can learn more together…

  8. An hour from home is most definetely away: I’m glad you had that chance! In my experience medicinal plants and herbs can be more tricky than any other plants: in the right soil and climate, they behave almost weed-like, while in the wrong setting they won’t thrive at all. I’d start from learning about your soil, and then about herbs! Enjoy the rest of your time off.

  9. yay! i am happy to hear you had your time away : )
    your first photo is so incredibly gorgeous!!!
    i am excited to hear you are thinking of herb gardening! herbs are my first love and my favorite thing to garden! they grow so easily and there is so many, many varieties to choose from and of course so much to be done with them. We just harvested some herbs and medicinal plants and made tinctures for our medicine in the wintertime. Blessings to you mama, *enjoy* the rest of your time at home! : )

  10. Mon

    Nothing like aloe vera for the skin. So easy and lovely. I must grow some soon. I think we have a native alternative though.

Leave a Reply

