Unexpectedly Found

IMG_3929

In the process of cleaning out one’s home it appears there are items that are lurking in small unexpected places, waiting to grab you and twist you a little.  Perhaps that is why it is so easy to let the things lie.  I stood for perhaps twenty minutes on a stool fingering it in my hand.  Still shining so brightly.  Other things have been easy to give away, throw to the trash.  Toss aside to make room for the new.  Others, they are harder to let go. The blue hen, was my Grandmother’s, I washed off the dust and placed it in my kitchen window above my sink.  There are no rings on my fingers now  to house in the chicken while I do dishes, but it still feels like the right place.  It was packed that way, the chicken with the ring inside it, taken off the shelf above my old sink, in the old home.  It has sat inside the chicken in my kitchen for one year now and I never knew……or perhaps, I just wasn’t ready.

12 Comments

Filed under home life, single parenthood

12 responses to “Unexpectedly Found

  1. Big hugs coming your way….xoxoxoxox

  2. I too have a chicken by by sink meant for rings. I am thinking of you.

  3. Hope you are doing okay today.

    The blue chicken is lovely.

    Tricia

  4. you are all so lovely. i think that i was meant to find it today rather than a year ago because now i am prepared to handle it. another reason why i may just now be going through my things.

  5. I can’t even imagine what it must be like.
    After reading this I believe like you, that there was a reason for finding the ring a year later….someone is watching over you.
    …and maybe it’s a good thing that chicken’s don’t speak.

  6. I hope that your grandmothers presence was a comfort and gently felt through this time as her glass chicken held this memory ‘protected’ for a year. My thoughts and prayers are with you, wishing you peace and love and sending big warm hugs your way. xoxo

  7. blueskyhi

    You’re little granny steps have helped you to take giant leaps – just like today. Well done and sending love and positivity your way. xxx

  8. thinking of you, friend…

  9. Even when you think some wounds are healing, in reality they are still fresh. Hugs and blessings to you today, friend.

    I have 2 little hens like this in my kitchen – one pink, one green – from my mom and grandma.

  10. Liz

    I still on occaision find random items from my first marriage that ended, what, 13 years ago? The sting fades in time. I promise. Now they’re usually just good for a random laugh.

  11. syd

    Really beautiful, and bittersweet. Have been thinking of you – and hoping you and the girls are well!

Leave a Reply

