Color Quilt Challenge

A challenge over at bloom to use our photographs to creat a color quilt was something I didn’t know if I would get done this week.  So I grabbed my camera as I headed out to do some Christmas shopping with family today.

My “shopping day in Lancaster county “ color quilt.

What I realized through this was how most of my photos are either, green, brown or more muted neutral colors.  Rarely do I pick up on bright yellows, blues or reds, so this was an eye opener.  See though, how I could not resist a brown, this sign caught my eye outside of the shop and I liked it so much I had to include it.  And now I find myself wanting to stay up late tonight, making more and more with older photos.

I am really looking forward to the next challenge which you can find here and don’t forget to stop by here to read the comments and see who else participated.  Since I am getting a late post due to a busy day, I’ve already peeked and they are all very lovely.

15 Comments

Filed under blogs, photography

15 responses to “Color Quilt Challenge

  1. Your color quilt is fantastic! The colors go together so well, and I love how you pieced it together. I’m with you….that horse sign is super!
    I hope you are having a relaxing weekend with your sweet girls!
    love sara

  2. Your vibrant colors are a fine remedy to a very gray day here in Oregon! Lovely quilt!!

  3. Beautiful QUILT!
    I love these colors together 🙂

    Nice to meet you
    HAPPY SUNDAY

    Patricia

  4. Your quilt is wonderful. I love the contrast in glimpses of things between showing much and showing little.

  5. beautiful. just my style of quilting.

  6. Yay! I was so happy to see that you did this too. Love your quilt Jennifer. What a good idea too. I need to take more photos when “out and about”. I love the red, and the bucket too, and the spokes.. all of it. Good job. Next week looks fun too.

    Have a good Sunday.. dancing and making pancakes with your girls 🙂
    Sarah

  7. Gorgeous colors…clever use of texture and shapes.
    I like your compostion and theme…very thoughtful.
    A peaceful and warm quilt to crawl under.

  8. Yay! I was so happy to see that you did this too. Love your quilt Jennifer. What a good idea. I love the red, and the bucket too, and the spokes.. all of it. Good job. Next week looks fun too.

    Have a good Sunday.. dancing and making pancakes with your girls 🙂
    Sarah

  9. Very nice. I especially love the pattern. And you’ve got all the colors of the rainbow. (Um, lancaster county. What state? Are we neighbors?)

  10. I love the boldness of your quilt. Everything is clear and bright and strong. Thanks for sharing it!

  11. Great composition. I love the way the photo of the bucket seems to be holding the yellow and pink…and the way you balance all the colors.
    Nice to meet you,
    Susan

  12. Hi Jennifer, I luv the way you organized the squares in your quilt. I’m glad you put in the ‘brown’ “good horse” sign.

  13. Beautifully bright and cheerful! Excellent to see on a dark, dark night…

  14. amazing…as usual. I love your photography…the blue spokes are my favorite…xo

  15. Fantastic collection! Love that burst of RED! Looks like a fun trip!

Leave a Reply

