January Goals

I decided to focus on three goals only. Anything that jumps in beyond that is just a bonus.  I’ve outlined a plan (ha, that’s scary in itself) and am going to break out smaller goals to work on every month.  Changing everything at once never works.  Never!  Too overwhelming, so I am going to focus each month on changing or doing a few things.

Here are my broad goals for 2010:

1. Be mindful, grow and learn in the area of whole living, eating and wellness.

2. Simplify and organize the home.

3.  Take more photographs and build my online photo community.

So for the month of January, I’ve given myself some goals.

1. Get 7-8 hours sleep every night.  EVERY night.  I’m notorious for staying up late after getting the girls to bed and my body and my mind suffer the consequences. So that is my wellness goal for January.

2. Sort, organize and donate any clothing we have saved up in the basement.  The local fire company is having a warm, clothing drive and I have (after sorting this weekend) two bags of winter clothes/scarves/coats that the girls have outgrown.  I still need to sort out and store the summer clothes that are piled up in my bedroom and go through the closets and pull out anything in our current wardrobe we are not wearing.

3. Start the 365 project.  For two years I have watched other bloggers do the 365 project.  If you don’t know about it click this link.  The 365 project involves taking a photo every day of the year.  Looking back it gives you a snapshot of what you experienced throughout the year and gives you a chance to grow as a photographer.  I joined the 365 group on Flickr to try to maintain the commitment and started my own page at Project 365, to document it. I would encourage anyone to join.

So that’s it.  All I’m demanding of myself.  I’d also like to clean out my kitchen cabinets and finish reading Coop (see 2010 reads tab) by the end of the month.  So hopefully I can do that too.

My last wish is to continue to connect with the other members of this online community.  I am blessed to have been touched by all of you.  Everyday I seem to find more and more amazing people.  My blog counter shows me about 100 people visit here daily, so if you haven’t already, please take a moment to say hello.  I’ve been bad about commenting on other’s blogs over the holidays, but hope I can take the time now that things are settling down.

Happy January!

19 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

19 responses to “January Goals

  1. Hi Jen

    I like your blog, i too am interested in photography. I hope your plans and ideas for 2010 come to pass

    Gill
    http://www.chicken33.wordpress.com

  2. I keep toying with the 365 project idea. It seems like such a beautiful way to capture a year.

  3. I like your goals…and I love that you were able to narrow then down to just one sentence. Have you read mine? Good gravy I go on and on.

    I like that you are going to have monthyl goals as well…and I am going to incorporate that into mine, too. I got a day planner and a cool daily notepad…so I can keep track of all that I’m doing and all that I want to do. Since I’m going back to school some of my goals may just be “get through this semester”…which is fine! At least it’s a goal!

    This year is going to be good…I look forward to going through it with you!!

    xoxoxox

  4. do you mind if I copycat? I am all over the 365 day project. i may email you as to how you might go about it.

    p.s. love your picture. love your goals.

  5. I like that you have goals and not resolutions. I read about that in another blog somewhere… not sure where? It’s a great idea to break them down into smaller monthly goals. They seem more specific… more attainable. I look forward to watching your progress!

  6. your goals are wonderful! and HELLO! i’m so bad about leaving comments… but boy do i read about one million beautiful blogs. 😉 happy new year!

  7. Goals are good and breaking them down so they are doable is even better. Good for you.

  8. mirandaplusemma

    Your blog continues to be one of my favorites. When I am short on time I read yours and Soule Mama only. After fiddling and starting and deleting many blogs, I am starting a new, less anonymous blog to chronicle some major changes me and the kiddo are making in our lives. Not much going on over there right now, but if you do get a chance stop by sometime! http://www.mirandaplusemma.wordpress.com.

    Take care!

  9. mirandaplusemma

    Commenting again to say I just read this quote which reminded me of your goals so much and had to share.

    “If we are peaceful, if we are happy, we can smile and blossom like a flower, and everyone in our family, our entire society, will benefit from our peace.” -Thich Nhat Hanh

  10. Wow. You’re an inspiration, Jennifer, and a daily indulgence. Thank you!

    ~~Camie~~

  11. Great things to focus on in 2010. Good luck keeping to them. Sounds like you have a good idea of keeping yourself on track.

  12. deb

    I found my way over way via Denise/this is my life. 🙂 I *love* your list of goals and your starting goals for January are perfect.

    I too, have found such an amazing group of people out here in the world of blogging. That in itself puts a little extra spring in my step every day.

    So hello to you and happy new year too! 🙂

  13. Hello! I just found your blog a few weeks ago and it quickly became one of my favourites.

  14. Happy New Year!! Wishing you all the best in 2010!

    What wonderful goals you’ve set for yourself. I like the use of the word goals rather than resolutions!

    I’ve been intrigued by the 365 project…I look forward to watching yours evolve!

  15. Wishing you the best of luck on your journey.

  16. Hello love..
    Wishing you the best on the 365. I love that Flickr group! Should be great fun! Looking forward to seeing your year in pictures! Happy New Year to you and the girls!!

  17. blueskyhi

    I think breaking down goals is so much easier and less scary than looking at them as a whole.

    I must say the 365 Project is a fantastical idea and I think I’ll look at signing up as I really need to use my SLR camera much more to get in practice for when we travel. Thanks for a great idea.

  18. I’ve not made any goals for this year yet – I think becuase it’s the first year when I don’t really know what lays before me (moved Up North last May, new life, new s.a.h.m no career set up etc. etc.) but reading yours has made me think I need some now more than ever, so thanks… and the 365 idea sounds great!

  19. Last year I attempted the 365 project and gave up after a few weeks. This year, I didn’t intend to do it, but I ended up realizing I’d already taken a lot of pictures, so now I’m trying to stick with it. I may eventually post them somewhere, but for now I’m just saving them in my computer file. I saw your photos on a more recent post and they look very interesting and artistic!

Leave a Reply

