Winter Blues

My 365 photo for today.  The winter blues are in so much more than my scarf and gloves.  Winter is my least favorite season of the year and we are only in the beginning.  It’s cold.  Colder than usual around here.  We’ve had snow. More snow than usual this year.  Snow is good, except when you have to go to work in it and kids get called off school because of it.  Skin is dry and itchy.  Furnace is running non-stop.  Wind is blowing non-stop.  It’s dark in the mornings and the evenings.  I’m sleeping more than ever, but still tired.  Being stuck in the house because it’s wicked outside leaves you feeling a bit isolated.  I haven’t had much urge to write, or read, or do much of anything, but still I pick up the camera each day and shoot this 365.  It’s a good project.

Perhaps it’s the darkness.  Or the cold.  Or the post-Christmas letdown. Whatever it is, I’ve got the blues.  I want to nestle myself in and hibernate through it.  Wake me up when it’s warm and I can take off these layers, slip back into a summer dress and eat fresh vegetables again.

17 Comments

Filed under mama, seasons

17 responses to “Winter Blues

  1. Liz

    Oh, I so agree….hang in there!

  2. oh, we are so alike. My 365 photo today says it all.

    I’ve started taking Vitamin D – it is actually highly recommended to take it living here.

  3. Winter is my least favorite season too. Maybe you and I just need a different perspective. Here’s the blog post I read just before yours:
    http://www.dispatchesfromkansas.com/2010/01/what-freezings-what-dark-days-seen.html
    It almost persuaded me to go back outside and explore this morning. Almost;o) Be sure to check out Tom’s Vernal Equinox and Winter Solstice photo projects, too.

  4. I’m with you. I’ve had enough. More snow than I care for. More cold days than I can handle. Wind chills here today are -30. Yes, -30. No human should be expected to get out in this kind of weather. Had more snow last night too. I think we’re probably at 27″ or better since early December. Just this morning I wondered, “How many days til spring?”

  5. Hello, dear Jenn…

    You are not alone, my friend. If only we could get the snow *with* brilliant sun every day, winter would be…spectacular.

    Thinking of you today and wishing you bright sunshine.

    ~~Camie~~

  6. I’m sorry you’re feeling blue…and here I am wishing for snow! I’ve lived in California my whole life…in an area where there aren’t really any REAL seasons. I always think I’d like snow…but maybe not after your description. I don’t know…

    I’m sending you hugs…and wishing we could sit and visit…xoxo

  7. ps…I’m so impressed at how diligent you are being about the 365 Project…I am taking pictures. I just can’t seem to upload them on time! Keep it up…it’ll get you through the blues just like my garden gets me through summer, MY least favorite season. And I should clarify…summer’s HERE. Where the temps reach up to 115’…ick.

  8. I know the feeling…it seems like this past winter/autumn has been darker, colder, and grayer than usual.

    Hang in there…our witch hazel is blooming so I think spring will be here sooner than later!! 🙂

  9. I can totally relate, but for different reasons. I’m missing my friends after my move and dealing with a frigid cold I haven’t known for over 20 years. But… it is simply a season – both literally and figuratively. And strange as it may be, sometimes I enjoy my blues and the melancholy introspection of winter. So, my piece of unasked-for advice is… live it, breathe it, and then be done with it.

  10. I feel you! I think my number one complaint this winter is the wind! It’s been so darn windy that it makes it miserable to be out. I wouldn’t just mind if it was just cold…not that I’m a winter person to start with. I think bears totally have it figured out. Sleep through this mess and wake up when it’s getting nice out again. Sounds wonderful to me.

  11. Maybe just hide out for a few days and then do what I do… just pretend with all your might that spring is coming soon. And use this as a time to more appreciate the color blue.
    Hope you’re feeling brighter soon 🙂

  12. Uh huh….fresh vegetables…from the garden. It’ll be here before you know it. I joined in the 365 fun.

    :)Lisa

  13. Loved the picture; I keep going back to it to refresh myself! Sorry the season has you down. Hang in there–we are already gaining minutes of daylight rapidly as the sun continues on its trek towards spring!

  14. Yes.. as April said.. we are on the other side and the days are getting longer.

    Winter is good for sleep that is for sure.. building up for when we are still at the lake at 9pm in the summer.

    Olive oil in the bath. I have itchy legs too 🙂

  15. 9 inches of snow and one degree here this am. I usually start cracking up in March. Give me another month and I’ll be joining you! As for the itch.. be sure to change to a moisturizing soap for the winter. Lots of moisturizer when you get out of the bath/shower too! Keep warm!!

  16. I know, cold, cold, cold. My hand’s a brick of ice just resting here on the old computer mouse!
    I love this picture, blues are so pretty in the winter.

    lisa

  17. blueskyhi

    Oh I so feel for you. I detest winter and the lethargy it seems to bring. You’ll have to rug up and eat lots of comfort food until your countdown to spring begins.

Leave a Reply

