Back To The Land

I know you are like me, or somewhat  like me.  Farmers, homesteaders, friends of farmers, or just believers in whole food, healthy living, slow living.

I am not a farmer.  I don’t think I could be a farmer, at least not at this stage of my life (lol, for those of you who know what my life is like right now).  But I believe in farmers. You know real farmers.  The ones who feel the dirt in their palms.  The ones who nurture their plants, their animals.  I’ve gone a bit overboard on the food front lately.  I’m studying more this year about whole foods and the benefits that they bring to our bodies, our souls.   About how we can heal most of our ailments with food and herbs.  How we can be proactive about our health by nourishing our bodies correctly.

I was trying to catch up on emails today and found this link that my sister sent me back at the end of November.  I really, really sat down and it really struck me.  It’s beautiful, both the words and the photos.

Please take a few minutes to read it. I posted a shot of it here.

You know when you think about if you could do anything, if money were no factor in your life, what would be that one thing you would like to do.  That you could feel a passion about.  I have thought about this in many ways.

If I had the opportunity, I would visit artisans all over.  Cheesemakers, winemakers, butchers, breadmakers. Then I would teach children about food.  Real food.  The way nature intended it.  Teach them to know what foods are and how they grow. How to grow it, how to cook it, how to eat it  and along the way I think, I just think, if they got it  they might just change this whole dang world around.

P.S.  I want to thank Jenni in KS for telling me about Sweet Juniper’s book  made for his kids about where there food comes from, it’s brilliant, check it out here.

25 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

25 responses to “Back To The Land

  1. please, may I go with you? I feel so much the same. but, we have to bring my kids. Is that okay?

  2. Visiting the artisans would be delightful. Teaching the children… well, I agree that would change the world. Real food would give them its energy, and most of all hope. My nieces love to come and taste here.. a bit of chocolate mint, of lemon balm… They’re open to it if we share it with them.

  3. d-

    we’ll rent a van. pack lots of games and paper and pencils and such. then we’ll eat all that yummy food and you’ll make me run……

    Laurie-

    yep.

  4. I literally just had a similar conversation with a few gals at a church meeting I just got home from. We talked about simple living…real food production…growing your own…preserving…making it yourself…being mindful of the environment…etc. We want to do a workshop…maybe this summer…teaching the young women (and whoever else wants to learn!) of our church these very things.

    I am right with you on the healing and health with good food and herbs. I’ve been reading a lot about this lately…and have yet to find a book that I’d like to OWN. I just started a new one that might be a keeper…we’ll see. And I got a book called Mommy Diagnostics…it’s full of great info on taking care of most ailments at home. I’ve been doing this…by necessity, really…and what I’m learning is that we CAN do it. We don’t HAVE to run to the doctor for everything. We’ve become way too dependent on outisde sources…when really, if we learn and pay attention, we know so much more than we realize.

    Do you have any good books to recommend for this type of thing? I’m reading one from the library…Grow Your Own Pharmacy. I’m liking it so far…I’m like you, tho…ADD when it comes to books! I’ve got three or four going at once!

  5. …sorry about the novel…:)

  6. Great article. great. I love the Cicero quote, “If you have a garden and a library, you have everything you need.”

    Yes. I agree.

  7. I’m on the same bandwagon. This year I vow to try and seek out more “real” food. Visit the farmers markets that I never seem to want to drive “all they over there” to get to and really show my kids that food comes from other places besides the grocery store. Great post and those pics are amazing!

  8. michelle- i know the garden and library quote grabbed me, and, ahem, i love your novels.

    lisa, do it, i’m serious. my kids love visiting the farms and meeting the people who grow our food.

  9. That sounds like a fun project. Do you read Sweet Juniper? His family lives in Detroit, but he did a photo book to show his children where their food comes from and it was absolutely brilliant. I was also impressed by how much they were able to buy at farmers markets and how many tiny urban farms there are right there in the big city. It was a fascinating book.

  10. Oh, I like this a lot. These lines especially reached out to me: “If I had the opportunity, I would visit artisans all over. Cheesemakers, winemakers, butchers, breadmakers.”

    I’m thinking ROAD TRIP! 😉

  11. Jenni-thank you for this.

    April-ok, maybe we’ll need two vans.

  12. Jen, I’m thinking you’ve already begun. Through your blog, you do reach parents and through them the children. The more we all celebrate the good things in life, the more they will be discovered by others. Good for you! Your blog is wonderful and so are you!

    Love from Maine, where we are eating our organic carrots from the garden!

  13. P.S. Maira Kalman rocks!

  14. I am with you. I’ve been on this bandwagon for years — eating real, whole foods. What we get out of our bodies is directly correlated to what we put into them. It’s simple. I don’t understand how people can not “get it.” I think finally the tides are turning and none too soon.

    P.S. Save 3 seats in the van for me and my girls. Please.

  15. Jen,
    Coming back to say thanks for sharing that!

  16. Oh I have to say one thing I am really enjoying about living her in suburban/rural MD is that I get tons of farm fresh meats, eggs, and soon milk. I can even go and knock on the farmer’s door for eggs if I need. How cool is that? I hope in your neck of MD you get some good eats too.

    ps. If I rent a van can we caravan…

  17. June, you are too kind. I am but one little voice.

    Nancy-see I know there are so many reasons we click.

    Sarah-you are so welcome.

    Annie-I’m glad you get it down there where you are too. We have a local meat/egg/butter farm, then we have a local veggie farm and then we have our ice cream farm which is slated to start delivering milk sometime this year. How cool is that.

    I’m thinking this is going to be some caravan and we better reserve as a group! Thank goodness we’ve got Nancy’s girls to keep mine occupied!

  18. blueskyhi

    Oh yes I couldn’t agree more. Although we live in the city it’s a small enough city to be able to frequently visit the country where they grow the wheat and make the traditional bread and for us grown-ups where they grow the grapes and make the wine. But I still haven’t been able to convience my youngest of the merits of eating vegies!!!

    And maybe once your done visiting the US farms you could come and visit our Aussie ones. 🙂

  19. Amazing post. Thank you so much for sharing that link. I really enjoyed reading it. I do think that with the knowledge that our children could totally turn things around. It’s our job to give them that knowledge.

  20. Thank you for this post… I want to share the link with friends…

  21. bluesky-what i wouldn’t give to be there visiting you right now where it is warm.

    kelly-well said.

    jill-share along, that’s why i put it up. and thanks for dropping by.

  22. I love, love, LOVE this post! (Could I say it more loudly?) In my “free” time I’ve been studying nutrition for the last 2 years and bringing whole foods into our house, shunning the packaged food, and becoming a general nuisance in my house. I think my husbands thinks me a little overboard – but he and my son are getting the point.

    Teaching my son, and others, about where their food comes from and how to grow it themselves has been a passion of mine for some time.

    So, if there’s an extra seat on the bus, I’ll make that field trip with you and the group (figuratively, I suppose) to find out all about how things are done.

    Thanks too for the link to the NY Times – I loved it so much that I HAD to post it on my Facebook page. I couldn’t keep something that good to myself.

    Cheers ~ Conny

  23. all right conny, i have too much to say back, so i’m sending you an email tonight.

    i’m glad you put the NY Times thing on Facebook, i didn’t think to do that, duh.

  24. It is such a big issue that really does need to be addressed. Food is such a vital part of life and to think that it is one more thing being controlled by an industry of chemicals and laboratory science is so sad. I think teaching children about where their food is coming from is one of the best ways we can change the way people look at their food because it will raise a generation that cares about it and that will ask those questions and make the decisions for the healthiest food and the most real food.

Leave a Reply

