dear girls (part II)

Dear Girls,

Please remember these things that I know,

1.  you were made perfect and human.

2. you should always have each other, there is nothing better than having a sister.

3.  when you really need me, and you can’t go to anyone else, and you are afraid,  I will be here.

4.  at some point you will see a beautiful sunrise/sunset and it will leave you in awe.

5.  love is worth it, even if it hurts sometimes.

6.  you are the only one who can give you self-worth.

7.  always use pure vanilla extract, the fake stuff isn’t as good.

8.  buying yourself flowers can make you feel better.

9.  you will be too critical of yourself.

10. you may never know who you want to be when you grow up, just keep growing.

11. live on your own before you live with a man.

12. pay your bills on time.

13.  have at least one good, good friend.

14.  trust your instincts.

15. people will surprise you with their kindness.

16. good music will lift your soul.

17. hiking through the woods is a good way to problem solve.

18. don’t be afraid to ask for help.

19. be proud of who you are, no matter who you are.

20.  know there is one person who will always love you, who will always know you, who will always hold you dear.

that is…..

-your mama.

18 Comments

Filed under mama

18 responses to “dear girls (part II)

  1. These are beautiful…and definitely yes on living on your own before living with a man. And maybe even with a really fun roommate…I’ve got some great memories with my old roommate…we had a blast!

    I love #10, too…just keep growing. Absolutely.

    xoxo

  2. yep…knew it…love this one too. I knew in my heart I was not the only Mom out there that ‘knows’ things..and most of all that ‘knows’ no matter who or how anyone will ever love their kids… a Mom loved them first and best.

  3. Your girls are so lucky to have you!

    Have a lovely weekend,
    Tricia

  4. how beautiful! I am sure your girls will treasure this beyond measure, especially when they are older.

  5. Terrific, just terrific. I love #7 and #17 in particular.

    You’re a great mom.

  6. What blessed girls these are, to have you as their mama…

    ~~Camie~~

  7. Peg

    nicely said…you are a wise woman, who has earned all that wisdom through authentically living your life! It’s not always easy, it doesn’t always feel good, but in all that living you have found your strength…. Bravo for you!

  8. Ditto what Michelle said! Again, your sentiments are right on.

  9. Such wonderful wise words to pass onto your girls.

  10. miranda

    These posts are amazing. I want to thank you for them, but that seems odd. Still thank you for having such thoughts and sharing them with us.

  11. Those are so good. I, especially, like the advice about living alone first, walking in the woods, good music and Number 20. I’ve always thought that for my children, now grown, that I might have done some things wrong and some things right but I always made sure they would never doubt Number 20.

  12. so true! the fake vanilla extract pails in comparison 🙂

    very sweet, have a great week!

  13. deb

    I just want to shout it from the top of the roof… “You are such a great mom!”

    And is it ok to say that I got a little misty-eyed reading part 1 & 2? So sweet. So true. And so wonderful.

  14. Wow! Found you thru Tina. Read the first part on her blog. So glad I clicked on the link. You are one amazing mama!

  15. Absolutely love this post! Found your blog through one of my favs, Second Wind! What an amazing writter and that you were able to capture all this in this letter! You are so right on with all of these! Love the info on the vanilla extract absolutely never use anything else! And having a sister is simply the best! My daughter does not have one and I feel so badly for her sometimes because she will never have what I have with mine and my mother in law has with hers. Luckily she has two female cousins!

  16. Words of wisdom to live by…Especially #6…So hard to remember when someone is trying to steal our self-worth from us.

  17. Perfection. I’m a mother of two girls and these ring *so* true …

  18. You are SO amazing! I had goose-flesh the whole time. I’m going to ask mum to write my something like this!

Leave a Reply

