Friend For Life

I was sitting here at the computer Sunday writing a separate post (it’s either floodgates or drought these days) when little Boo came downstairs this morning and wrapped herself in a blanket on the couch next to me.  She had Bear with her, of course, and she lay there quiet for quite a while which is unusual for her.

Then with tears starting to glaze her eyes, she asked me, “Mommy, can I keep Bear forever…..”

I didn’t have a Teddy Bear growing up.  I don’t know why so much I wanted each of my girls to have these bears.   A good friend of mine that I used to work with got them.  They are both snuggly soft.  Ems bear has light pastel colored swirls that you cannot even differentiate anymore the fur is so smooshed and well-loved.  Boo’s is a brown bear with with little black button eyes, still pretty soft and fluffy. Their ribbons are tied forever around their necks because their bows could never now be undone.

The purely magical part of these bears is that they never stop loving the girls and I think that may be the reason why I felt it was so important for them to have them.

Boo has a special connection with her bear and likewise Bear is quite important to me too.

Saturday  Boo went to visit her father for the day.  She left Bear sitting on the couch, but made sure that he was tucked in with a blanket.  I wanted to curl up on the couch with my grandmother’s recipe book and a cup of tea.  Do you know who stole the blanket from Bear but then decided to pull the covers back over him?

Regardless, here is what I told her. She can keep Bear forever.  He is hers forever.  When we go to Nova Scotia this summer, Bear can go.  When she goes to college, Bear can go.  When she moves into her first apartment, Bear will be there.  Bear will always be there.  Bear was here waiting for her when she was first born and he belongs to her.  Will always be there.

More than just a possession, Bear does belong to her.  Right now he is as much a part of her as anything else and I want her to know that is okay and always will be.

So thank you Shawn for those bears.  Those bears you got long ago when Ems was just a little peanut.  You have no idea what a gift you gave. And in this, the year of simplifying here in this place, a sweet, soft friend is a simple pleasure.

6 Comments

Filed under girls

6 responses to “Friend For Life

  1. Denise

    sweet. very sweet.

  2. You tell boo that this 46 year old still has her bear. My Gram bought him for me when my Mom was pregnant with me. His name is Roger. He sits on the cedar chest in my room. He’s had one too many haircuts over the years and his neck is a bit wobbly, but he’s still my bear.

    Boo, some bears really are forever (just ask Roger).

  3. Shawn

    Jen, thanks for sharing. I am glad the girls can carry a little bit of my love with them.

  4. I love these kinds of things. I actually wrote about it on my blog too: http://kidsareteachers.blogspot.com/2010/02/my-sweet-pumpkin.html. These special items that the gift-giver doesn’t realize at the time the importance are the most special gifts. Bear will be with her forever. As long as she needs him. 🙂

  5. I still have my bear. Henry is his name. He knows all my secrets! Each of mine has a bear that is their special one. It’s amazing just how close they become to us. Glad to see that others feel the same way!

  6. Precious. Just precious.

Leave a Reply

