jack.

I first heard Brushfire Fairytales in 2003 when my girls were just wee ones.  and jack was just a surfer who had made his first record.  today i still love to start my day with these three songs, here, here, and here.  they hold absolutely no significance to me personally, i just like the way they make me feel and i love hearing my children running around the house going le,de,de, de,da,da,da-dah,da-da, la da, da da da, da-hah, da-dah.

i didn’t like “to the sea” at first but now i realize how close those songs are to my beloved Brushfire Fairytales and now everyone knows who jack johnson is.  i used to feel that his songs were the background to my life.  now they are the background to a lot of people’s lives.

but to me he will always be the surfer singing songs about love and the goodness of this earth and if a lot of other people get to enjoy that too well then all the better.  to me i’m just happy he picked up a guitar and opened his mouth and decided to share his thoughts with the rest of the world.

and for carrying this reminder in my head all day:

move like a jellyfish, rhythm is nothing, you go with the flow, you don’t stop

3 Comments

Filed under music

3 responses to “jack.

  1. How funny, just last night we were at our friends house who organizes music festivals. She was talking about trying to get JJ and I was telling her how much I loved his music, and BAM, there you are with a post about him.

    We always seem to have that freaky connection. 🙂

  2. one of these days I am going to make a CD of him for yoga.

  3. Sheri

    I adore Jack! We saw him about 7 years ago when he was touring with Ben Harper and the Innocent Criminals. He had me from the moment he stepped onto the stage barefoot with nothing but his guitar.

Leave a Reply

