180° South

There are those movies that change your life.  That after viewing you see things completely differently.   This is one of those documentaries.  My mother recommended this movie to me.  She said everyone should see this movie.  I didn’t realize until I was into it and saw Chris Malloy that  it was a Malloys film.  As in the same Malloys that film with Jack Johnson, that the soundtrack that is now downloaded and playing is from Brushfire Records.  As if all the surfing didn’t give it away point blank.

Regardless, here is what this film gave me.

A belief in living your dreams.  A belief in doing.  A belief in saying YES to life.  A belief that people can do good.  A belief in how beautiful this world is.  A belief in putting less stock in things and more in experiences.  A belief that one experience can change your life and what you choose to do with it as it did for the original crew in 1968.

I don’t want to climb mountains…too afraid of heights.  I want to learn to surf though those waves seem just a little bit scary.

But I want to stop thinking myself out of the things I want to do.  One life.  One chance.  What if we just said yes.

We have one life.  We have one planet.  What we choose to do with both of those things is our choice.

I cannot make a big enough recommendation.  I was blown away.  So many wise and wonderful things were said, so much beauty.

More info is here.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “180° South

  1. i just added this to my netflix. thanks for the suggestion.

  2. something else i was going to add…lawman met a guy from CA at our pool this summer. he moved to our community so he could be near his grandkids. turns out he’s a surfer. started in 1958. oh, the stories he as to tell of riding the big waves; the ones that are so big you can’t paddle out, you have to be towed. would scare me to death but the rush must be over the top!

  3. Deb

    I love this statement “What if we just said yes.”

    Thank you for sharing, adding this movie to my list.

    Have fun surfing those waves, just embrace the fear, accept it, and then do it. Scary, but fun!

  4. I just added it to Netflix too. Moved it to the top.

    I felt the same way about Food Inc.

    I love a movie that makes you think and feel. Thanks for letting us know about it.

  5. Amy

    It’s an instant view on Netflix…you can play it right on your computer immediately! I will watch it ASAP! Thanks for the recommendation!

  6. I’ve been slowly coming around to this way of thinking. The things matter less to me, while the experiences matter more.

    The only problem I’ve found is that saying “Yes!” can be kind of expensive. Sometimes I have to reluctantly say, “No!” to experiences because of the cost.

    But, still, it just means we have to be creative and work a little harder for those memorable experiences.

  7. A friend of mine told me that I should get this movie for my husband for Christmas. I’d forgotten, so thanks for the reminder! It sounds wonderful, and I’m excited to see this Mondo Beyondo way of thinking from the male perspective. They aren’t always so reluctant to say “no,” are they?

Leave a Reply

