one word at a time.

 

 

This year I am vowing to take things a little slower.  “slow” doesn’t seem to apply usually here unless you want to count trying to get Emily ready for school, that girl just works at her own pace.  But this year (among other things) I want to take things a bit at a time.

*****

when i am cooking dinner, i want to be just cooking dinner.

when i am reading bedtime stories, i want to be just reading bedtime stories.

when i make my evening call, i want to already be in bed, to turn off the light.

*****

I’ve been intent the last couple years on setting so many goals for myself which has been good, but this year my goals for myself are falling into three simple little categories which I’m not  going to elaborate on here because they are that self-explanatory and that low-stress.  I know without a shadow of a doubt I can accomplish these three things.

live. laugh. love.

 

There are other things I want to do too.  I want to work on my photographs more.  I want to write more.  I want to spend more time here online, but they are not the essentials.  These things are the essentials.  So when I go missing here for brief periods of time which I am hoping will not happen but somehow always does, know that I am busy on my list….living, laughing, loving.

I have worked so hard.  On myself and on my life.  Now I want to reap the benefits of the hard physical and emotional work I’ve done.  I’ve reached  another great goal and another favorite word of mine:

acceptance


This was the word I chose for my first self-portrait of 2011.  This was the word I chose when Shutter Sisters posted their One Word Project for this month, the first of 2011.  This is the word I think will finally define me this year and this was the word that made my dream come true landing a photo of my own on the Shutter Sisters site, a goal I’d been harboring for awhile and finally put out on “the list” last fall.

With three of my Mondo Beyondo dreams having found their way to me since September when  I posted them, I have found  it is best when I just allow them to reside here with me and find their own way to fruition.  They seem to do this best when I  let go of the controls and do another three words:

be. do. believe.


I will take this year one day at a time.  I will work on my photographs, one photo at a time and I will take all these beautiful words that have come into my life and I will write them, one word at a time, documenting this life I’ve been lucky enough to sculpt out of what I never thought was possible.

6 Comments

Filed under mama

6 responses to “one word at a time.

  1. You know every post of yours is better then the one before.

    When John and I first got together he would pull me away from whatever I was doing, or just come and grab me and make me stop what I was doing and he would just hold me, or cuddle with me on the couch and say “Stop and just “be”. You know no one had ever said that to me before. It was it like I needed permission to stop and just do nothing. Now, it’s almost our little saying “just be”. I’m still amazed that I get to share my life with this man that makes me better, and happier and stronger then I could have imagined.

    I wish all that for you and more. Looks like you are headed in the right direction friend.

  2. Denise

    i agree – every word you write just keeps getting better!!

    live. laugh. love

    those same words are right in front on me sitting here. I should look up at them more often.

  3. Liz

    ahhhh…envious of the idea of only doing one thing at a time!

  4. girl, you are beautiful through and through. life is sometimes best when we just sit back. love your choice of words for 2011.

  5. I really love this post.
    There are so many wise words.
    I especially like the thought of taking this year one day at a time.

  6. Congratulations on all you have accomplished, and on the focus and patience you have. It really comes through in taking one step at a time and being mindful. It is one of the hardest things in the world for me, and I think not doing that creates a lot of unnecessary stress and judgment in my life. I’m really looking forward to reading more of your blog and more of your great thoughts.

Leave a Reply

