Week(ends)

(lots of smiles this weekend, all around)

Emily told me today that it was unfair that we only get two days for the weekend.  Not enough time, she said.  I have to agree, it seems completely unfair. So I told her that.  And then I said, “wait until you’re grown up and you don’t get summer or Christmas vacation anymore either”.  When did I become this person who says such things, such a mother.

So it is Sunday night again.  I wondered why at 8:00 p.m. I was vacuuming?  Why do I always save the housework until last?  I am a procrastinator extraordinaire.  But there is that list, you know.  The one for 2011.  The one that  maintains the three must do’s:  live, laugh love.  Vacuuming comes after.

I skipped the grocery.  Took a lot of photos of a beautiful snowfall.  Sat on the couch and drank tea and talked with my mother.  Took two hot showers in one day. Spent a lot of time at the editor.  Let the girls stay up too late making Play-Doh cakes and treats. Curled up on my bed in the darkness and talked and laughed until 2:45 a.m with a man I adore.  Stayed in my pajamas until after noon.  Went outside in the snow a bit with the girls.  Left the Christmas tree up for another few days because it is too beautiful to take down.

Perhaps it will catch up with me, this lackadaisical attitude.  Perhaps not.  We only get two days.  Best take advantage of them to the fullest.

So far, so good.

6 Comments

Filed under home life

6 responses to “Week(ends)

  1. As they say…the dirt and the laundry and the toilets…they will wait…the dirt will still be there tomorrow…but time…won’t…sounds like a lovely weekend. So when is that sweet man of yours gonna relocate? 😉

  2. Denise

    I wish I could do this. Is is just not my nature. I need to change my nature even if just a little.

  3. mine wanted a longer weekend… they got it. snow day today and tomorrow 🙂 lots of mommy and munchkin bonding time.

    hope you have a wonderful week!

  4. A good friend of mine always used to say ’10 layers of dust look the same as one’. Leave the housework and enjoy life! 🙂

  5. Funny how kids put things into perspective. It’s nice that you listen to yours.

  6. i have taken a different approach to the weekends this year. so far i am loving every minute of it. there is a great balance of activity and utter nothingness. it feels relaxing and indulgent and blissful.
    keep rockin’ it, lady.

Leave a Reply

