those moments.

{from my walk this weekend, no snow and some green shoots}

This year I vowed to get  a photographic education.  I was not satisfied with the quality of the non-credit photo classes here locally (Photography In Natural Light at 6:00 pm in winter?), so I picked up some photography books that caught my eye and showed potential to  give me those technical bits and pieces I seem to be lacking.  When we start talking about formats, and pixel sizes etc, etc, etc my mind gets a bit befuddled.

Sometimes I look at my photos and I wonder why am I taking these? What purpose comes from me having this photo on file along with the hundreds upon hundreds of others.  Then I remember what I set out to do in the beginning of this year.  I want to learn and grow artistically, but really my main purpose is to document this life.

{the day we said forget everything else and painted all afternoon}

I find it a wonderful thing that one day my children will look back and they will have a visual reminder of the  random things that lie beyond  what their memories can carry.  Memories they can peruse and remember fondly.  I like having documentation that there are simple things in this life that make me happy, like water droplets clinging to a leaf after a refreshing rain, or the first sign of a daffodil peeking out promising spring.

I think I need to remind myself that photography must be like this blog here.  I don’t blog for anyone else but myself.  It’s nice that there are people who stop by interested in my journey, but in the end, it’s B.W.O. like on the sidebar here, Blogging Without Obligation.  As much as I have hopes and dreams that maybe someday I could do something a little more with my photography, I think perhaps I need P.W.O.  Photographing Without Obligation.

{my brother on Christmas evening, before I sat on him and disrupted his sleep}

It wasn’t the  proficiency of the masters that made me want to pick up a camera.  It was the people here, here, here and here, that first started the yearning.   It was the bloggers that first opened my eyes to what a photo can mean and they were doing that with moments in everyday life.  That is what drives me to pick up the camera.

{my kitchen windowsill Thanksgiving morning}

There are two things that have stirred my photographic ambitions recently and they have nothing to do with technical prowess.  The first is the book Visual Poetry by Chris Orwig and I am eating this book alive.  The second is the Slice of Life project which I have as of today officially joined for April.  Both of these things reminded me why I picked up a camera in the first place.  Both of these make me feel I know that picking up the camera is the same as when I sit down here to write.  It is to grab the everyday.  Those everyday moments that are barely here before time pulls them away so fast.

{a moment, Karelyn reading to Annabelle}

I am going to read the books and continue to learn.  I am quite far from being a Photoshop queen, but I know that photography came to me with a purpose just as  writing this blog has.  It is a reminder to stop and reflect and see the goodness that surrounds me.  To have a record that this was the way life was, and this is the way it is unfolding.   On the road to finding peace and acceptance (my word this year) I am glad I have a way of training my mind to stop racing ahead and just accept what is.  To know that you don’t need something spectacular, that everyday life itself is exquisite.

4 Comments

Filed under photography

4 responses to “those moments.

  1. Denise

    you wrote what i have always thought about blogging. i blog for myself. i have never wanted tons of comments – could do with none actually. i just like to capture the days – without any obligation as well.

    p.s. – love your pictures

  2. Ohh….I love the whole “without obligation” idea…I always feel like everything I do has to have a specific and important purpose. And I don’t mean to ME…I feel like OTHERS need to see what I do as purposeful. But…without obligation…I am not obligated to anyone else…sometimes I just need to do something (write, take photos, create) for me. And…it’s OK.

    Thank you for the book titles…I’m gonna check ’em out.
    I absolutely LOVE the photo of Karelyn reading to the cat…so full of life…and reality…a true moment.

    xox

  3. Life is indeed exquisite! I love every one of these pictures… the happy painting, the windowsill, the crown on your brother, sweet Karelyn reading to the cat, spring…

  4. What an awesome collection of beautiful pictures! I’m feeling the same way about wanting to learn more and grow in my confidence with my camera. I have also signed up for Slice of Life (April), so I’m really excited to know you’ll be there with me! Your photos are very inspirational! Thanks for sharing!!

Leave a Reply

